h1

Severe Cold Weather!

January 24, 2011

When you talk to return missionaries, they always told you it was the best and the hardest time of their lives, you have really good days, but also probably their worst days as well…I’m not sure if I have had a worst day of my life on my mission, there have been so pretty tough weeks, and I can’t seem to remember the bad times anyway, they seem to magically disappear from my memory. but this week, definitely experienced the coldest day on my mission, -23c with severe wind chill warning, -32c…do a little bit of maths, and you will get -55c, that’s colder than your average freezer compartment, my companion’s bottle of water turned into a solid block of ice…anything we buy in terms of food, we can leave it in the car, as it is colder than our fridge…and easily accessible wherever we are.

It started off at -18, then got colder and colder day by day, today it has warmed up a bit…but man…the wind chill goes down to the the bone…even with all the winter gear I’m wearing, usually 4 layers under my winter coat, 2 layers under the trousers, and 2 pairs of socks…woolly ones…2 woolly hat on top of ear muffs…usually only my glasses and nose are showing when I’m out…truly arctic conditions for me…

Luckily, we’ve been fortunate enough to have some appointments indoors, getting fed couple of times a week nowadays…and our investigator Lucy, is getting baptised on the 6th March, currently away on her honeymoon in the Caribbean…lucky people they are…

Thats it for this week…Chinese New Year coming up soon…so hopefully things get more colourful…and I’ll be able to post some pictures…don’t really take pictures, as it is really just freezing outside.

Have a good one.

Lots of Love,

Elder Lau

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

