h1

Me? A connoisseur?

November 8, 2010

On my mission, I’m mainly called Elder, or a missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, but the other day, I was called a connoisseur, which according to wikipedia means "is a person who has a great deal of knowledge about the fine arts, or an expert judge in matters of taste." Why was I called that (by a member in fact), when we visited them, she said although my purpose is primarily to bring people to the knowledge of the gospel, I seem to be sampling all the food in Toronto, especially in the areas I’m serving in. Well, when put that way, I can’t really deny it, if you take a look at my camera, you can see a healthy % of the photos are food, and mainly architecture of course. So I’ll upload just a few pictures of food taken on my camera, to be honest I’ve gone out to eat much much less than before though…

The first two are eating out, the Korean Pork Bone Soup and a very nice Hainanese Chicken Rice. The other two, first the okonomiyaki (japanese pancake) I cooked on p-day and the steak….that was dinner yesterday at a member’s home.

So this work for missionary work…I do actually work…we found two new investigators, both through our ESL program, where we teach english as a second language to free, mainly to old chinese people, but every now and then, we find people who are interested in the gospel, and it’s fantastic when that happens…in english class, I always make it a case to teach proper British english. But other than that, we don’t have many teaching appointments at the moment, but are trying hard to work closely with members to form a "Celestial Team" to help everyone do their part.

The day is almost over, so until next time, hopefully have more stuff to talk about…take care!

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

